Skip to content

Holyoke receives $35,562.29

September 3, 2008

In a Press release dated Aug 22. 2008 The City of Holyoke received $35,562.29 in payment for their recycling efforts for the first 6 months of 2008.

Holyoke has recycled a total of 815.22 tons of recycled material and receives a flat rate of $15.67 per ton, plus revenue sharing when the markets are up. However in contrast Chicopee has recycled 1,575.73 tons for a disbursement of $67,857.

So a call to ‘Action’ or Challenge is in order to Holyoke’s Citizens to reach a tonnage of 1200 for the last 6 month of 2008 and to reach a total tonnage of 1600 for the first six months of 2009.

Why should we recycle in Holyoke? besides the obvious of helping to save the environment.

The more money that Holyoke receives from sources such as recycling, we can continue the free services such as trash removal.

I went down last year to pick up a new recycling bin or ‘blue bin’ and let me tell you they are very small. I will check with the DPW and see what kind of alternatives can be supplied and post here later.

Also remember that PET 1 plastics are in High Demand, so throw all your clear water and juice and soda bottles in the bins. According to the Springfield Materials Recycling Facility, they receive $300 per ton for PET 1

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 11:01 pm

    Several people in town have mentioned to me that we need a better “How To” recycling. Perhaps a website, or even a video. I know that I would like a better guide, not for me, but for the idiots I live with.

  2. September 4, 2008 8:24 am

    I called them once to get a list of which plastics can and cannot be recycled and they seemed a little unsure themselves. They said no shampoo or detergent bottles (high density resins) but I put them in anyway and they take them. The plant in springfield does take them So.. I don’t know. It is very unclear in Holyoke. I put glass, plastic and metal in my bin.. but it seems like there should maybe be more then one free for all bin. I think I am going to post the seven differant resins this week.

  3. September 4, 2008 9:37 am

    As it is, we have three receptacles and still have stuff falling out half the time. Then again, that probably just says something about our excess consumption.

Leave a Reply

